HTC Desire first to get the new Android 2.2 Froyo Firmware Update – 23rd June?

Well just when you thought your phone couldn’t get any better. An HTC representative “let it slip” that HTC would be releasing the new Froyo 2.2 update this June – the 23rd to be precise.

Here is the quote that a disgruntled HTC Desire customer received from his telephone call to HTC:

”But you never heard this from me…. A new update is coming the 23rd of June and you will be able to put some apps on to the micro sd card.”

Apparently he was complaining about the lack of space available on his phone to install apps.

So, is this story true or some sort of sick joke? Either way it’s exciting to think we might be getting the update a lot sooner than we first thought.

Share

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “HTC Desire first to get the new Android 2.2 Froyo Firmware Update – 23rd June?”

  1. Gabriel Says:

    That’s very interesting. Only worry is that network locked phones may take longer to update. However, other than a few Orange apps pre-installed, I don’t see what they’ve necessarily changed on my phone compared to an unlocked version. Fingers crossed…

    • Jon Says:

      There weren’t any pre-loaded T-Mobile apps (that I could see) when I got my Desire (great news!) but yes, it’ll probably take a while longer for non-rooted users.

  2. Barwin Says:

    As I commented on a few posts back (about the release of 2.2): before the end of this year we will get Froyo…
    “A little optimistic” someone said… well, here we are. I’ve been rather pessimistic 😉 I Know: we’re still running 2.1 and no official update yet, but it sounds quite good, doesn’t it

  3. Jonathan Says:

    Fingers crossed that this actually does happen. The source seems bit iffy but hey I’m not gonna argue I just wants me updates 🙂

  4. Guide To Gadget Says:

    I can’t wait Froyo… 😉

Leave a Reply

