New HTC Desire System/Firmware Update out today v 1.21.110.4

Thanks to Dale for the head’s-up, T-Mobile UK customers can now upgrade their Desires to the latest HTC firmware which happens to be version 1.21.110.4 and weighs in at 24.41MB. This is a different version to what I reported the other day – perhaps due to operator/network branded changes…

To check for and download the update, simply go to Settings -> About phone -> System software updates and then press “Check now”. If the update is showing then you get the choice to download it via your phone’s network or via WiFi-only. Best to do the Wifi-only if you’re not in a good 3G area (and if you want to save on bandwidth if you don’t have an unlimited data plan.

Will post any further noticeable updates as and when I spot them.

Happy updating! 🙂

[Edit] It seems that you must have a well-charged battery to install the update. I’ve got 18% left but it won’t let me upgrade until the battery is charged enough…

[Edit] With 27% battery it let me start the update. The updater automatically backs up your settings and data and then reboots to the update mode – your phone is not usable during this time. Funky green update screen though 😉

[Edit] After allowing the phone to update (the process took about 10 minutes in total and there were several restarts) I finally got to the Homescreen to restore my backed up data from the SD card. The restore took AGES to perform and the phone was pretty much unusable during this process. After leaving it for a good 25 minutes (it only took about a minute to back up my data initially) I decided it was time to pull the battery. Upon un-locking the screen I had a message saying “HTC Sense” was “not responding. Force close / Wait” !! Right well, case off and battery out. Waited 60 seconds and re-started the phone. So far, I don’t seem to have lost anything but it wasn’t quite the smooth experience I was hoping for. I’m sure it was just me but thought I’d make you aware!

Share

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

17 Responses to “New HTC Desire System/Firmware Update out today v 1.21.110.4”

  1. Gabriel Says:

    Any news for Orange branded HTC Desires? Thank you.

  2. Jaggy Says:

    Updated my T-Mobile Desire tonight, took about 10 minutes, and it did a couple of restarts. Didn’t need to restore anything, all was normal afterwards. I now have a different gallery item full of icons for possibly Google Maps. Don’t know what else yet.

  3. Jon Says:

    I have noticed the Messages application works slightly differently now. Any un-read messages now appear in bold text and you also get a number to the right of each “thread” telling you how many messages are in the thread. Might be useful I suppose!

  4. JJFA Says:

    Hey, any idea how long Vodafone users will b waiting for the update?

  5. Jaggy Says:

    Noticed that the weather app and widget now show “United Kingdom current” instead of the local town as the location, which is a bit disappointing.

    • Gabriel Says:

      I must say that, reading the comments here, I can’t see any one particular reason to want to upgrade to this Firmware update!

      • Jon Says:

        I must admit, the phone is now running just fine. I did a hard reset and it’s all working as it should now. I think it’s worth the update if not just for the fact the weather app and Friend Stream app work properly now (updating and correct location). Also, the bug where when your network texts you and it shows up as one of your Facebook friends has now been fixed..

    • Jon Says:

      Have you got your “GPS Location” settings enabled?

  6. Si Says:

    Updated mine, uneventful.

    Though when it came back on it said something like…

    “You have a backup blah blah, do you want to restore it?”

    And I thought – “Crap… when was the last time I backed up? is all my info blank until I restore?”

    Does anyone actually know the answers, do you need to restore a backup?

    I already know that the phone automatically runs the backup, although no idea when or the frequency etc.

  7. meltonrobbo Says:

    I am on t-mobile, my software is 1.15.110.11 and have just been on System Software Updates. Check now says there are no updates available for my phone.
    Bloody strange. I have crap signal and was hoping it might do something to help.

  8. Cat Says:

    My update didnt take long but data and settings retore has taken like 20 mins so far! Is this normal? I’m considering battery pull but don’t want to lose everything!? Meanwhile my message alert keeps going which is driving me mad coz I can’t read the text! Not sure what to do…

  9. Roy Says:

    is these any news on the firmware update for the desire on orange. I still have not got it and new version of android will be out soon.

  10. Simon Says:

    All is well. Desire on 3 network. Did the update. Took 10min to download. Rebooted. Installed the firmware. Rebooted then back to the home screen. Said it did a backup and if I wanted to restore. Said yes, took another 5min to restore. Job done. Overall about 25mins in total. Noite: even after the restore of the backup. Shortcut on the screen have to be added again. Email setup again. Apart from that it’s working fine.

Leave a Reply

