New Facebook Android app updated: version 1.4.0

Facebook released an update to their Android Facebook app today bringing it to version 1.4.0.

This new update adds support for Places, Groups and an improved comment viewing system.

Places lets you see where your friends are (if they geo-tag their posts)

Groups apparently lets you “share posts with small groups of friends” whatever that means! I loaded it up but just got a blank screen so I don’t know if I’m missing something?

The “improved notifications” basically means you are no longer taken to the browser and mobile version of the site to cure certain comments/updates.

Along with these improvements and bug fixes it’s nice too see a solid update. The only complaint I have for this update is they’ve gone back to taking you straight to the news feed rather than the main menu which we saw in a previous version. It might just be me but I prefer clicking to view the news feed rather than the app taking me there to start with.

image

Posted from WordPress for Android

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “New Facebook Android app updated: version 1.4.0”

  1. Sonia Says:

    How do I upload the places app to my fb on the htc desire… any ideas

  2. Jon Says:

    You need to make sure your Facebook App is up-to-date. You need version 1.4.0 or higher to guarantee this (the current version is 1.5.0)

    Go to your Market App and then click on “Downloads” (or “My Apps” as it is now called). Scroll through until your find the Facebook app listed and then click on it. You should then find a button to update the app to the latest version.

    Let me know if you need any more help.

    Jon.

Leave a Reply

