HTC Desire Mugen Extended Battery 3200mAh

Still not quite ready to do the test yet as I am being patient and waiting the recommended 5 cycles before the battery is in it’s best state.

It’s quite frustrating really. I’m charging over night for at least 8 hours and then running the battery down to around 15%.

This is not as easy as it sounds. I’m having to leave the display on all day on full brightness with every feature the Desire has turned on. 30 minute timeout on the display and even whilst playing music too. This is as much as I can do to drain the battery. At one point I even left Reckless Racing on and running for a couple of hours to boost the drainage!

So far this looks well for the Mugen battery as it’s taking so long for me to discharge it to as low a percentage so that I can recharge it fully (hope that makes sense). If it copes half as well as this when it’s ready to use then I’m thinking that there’s a huge improvement with this battery over the stock HTC one – which is to be expected as it’s more than twice the capacity.

Two more cycles to go and I can be ready to do the full test and see how long the phone lasts with the new extended battery.

I suppose to make it a fair test I should downgrade my firmware back to Froyo 2.2 and then I can compare it fairly to the previous test I did.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 Responses to “HTC Desire Mugen Extended Battery 3200mAh”

  1. Palipali Says:

    Size matters! How big is the Mugen battery in millimeters? Does it fit under the original battery compartement?

    • Jon Says:

      It sticks out an extra 5mm when compared to the original Desire battery. It does come with a new back case to put on though.

  2. Anon Says:

    I’m excited for this tbh!
    If it takes that long to run down with EVERY feature turned on then it must last for a very long time with them off. Depending on your review I might buy one for when I go away for long weekends, go camping etc. to make sure I have enough battery life to carry me thorough 😉

    • Jon Says:

      This is exactly the kind of thing I would want to use it for. Weekends away in the sticks. First impressions are very good. Got another day of discharging to do now!

  3. Anon Says:

    There’s no tip section on this site but: HEY! Gingerbread ROM is leaked for the Desire!!!!!!!!!!!!!1111111

Leave a Reply

