App of the Week: Google Docs app now finally available for Android!

android app of the weekApp: Google Docs
Cost: FREE
Developer: Google Inc
Developer pageGoogle Docs Android Download

Finally! You can now get a Google Docs app for your Android phone! This was going to be just a news article but after trying the app it instantly became my App of the Week

Why is this such a great thing? Well, think of Google Docs as an “Office in the web”. You can store and access your text, spreadsheet and presentation documents from anywhere in the world – and now from within your own pocket*. It’s a completely free alternative to a paid ‘Office’ experience.

Google Docs App ScreenshotAs I’m currently planning a trip to the US of A with a few friends this will prove priceless for me to have. We’ve been sharing some documents to keep track of the itinerary, expenses and flight details etc so it’ll be great to be able to check up on how things are going whilst on the move. Also, I’ll be able to use it across the pond if I need to check up on any details we may have forgotten. OK so I could use a computer for all of this but it’s a lot easier to just glance at your phone quickly then it is to start your computer up and then load your browser.

So how does it perform? Very smoothly! I was quitie surprised to see that it actually works better than my little notebook at displaying a large ‘Word’ document I have with loads of pictures in it. Flicking my finger up and down to scroll through shows no sign of slowing down whatsoever. The editing seems to work very well too which is something I was slightly worried about in the translation to a mobile handset.

I do feel for the likes of Quick Office now Google have released this. There is less and less reason to pay for an App to do similar tasks but for the convenience factor I must recommend it to you.

For some reason it isn’t showing up in the Android Market either on my handset or via a search on the Android Market website however I have managed to get a link which takes you directly to the page to download the app. Simply sign in with your Google account and Google send the download straight to your phone – scary I know!
*you probably won’t be able to use the app from your pocket very easily but you know what I mean

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

