Amazon to add audio and video to its Android Kindle app?

“Why doesn’t the Android Kindle app support audio and video?”. This is what I asked myself yesterday when about to purchase a rather expensive book from the Kindle store.

I noticed the book I was interested in also had an edition that included audio and video clips but that it was only supported on “iPhone and iPad”. Why? Well I had to find out so I contacted Amazon to try and find out. They responded back very quickly and here’s what they had to say:

Hello,

Thank you for writing to Amazon.com with your valuable suggestions.

I’m so glad to hear you’re enjoying your Kindle app! It’s always gratifying to know when we’ve succeeded.

I’ll make sure your feedback is passed on to the Kindle development team.

I’ve forwarded your suggestions about implementing audio and video for Kindle for Android to our development team and we’ll consider your feedback as we plan further improvements. We’re regularly working on improvements to your Kindle experience.  I’ve let the Kindle team know you’re interested in this feature.

It is always important for us to hear how customers react to all aspects. Your valuable feedback will help us to improve the selection and service we provide and we’re glad you took time to write to us.

We do value the feedback of our customers and make every attempt to integrate their comments or suggestions into our stores and procedures.

As always, please feel free to contact us should you have future suggestions, questions or comments. We have team of experts who takes into consideration each and every feedback of our customers and brings them into practice.

Thank you using Kindle.

Well very polite I must admit. I just can’t see why the Android app hasn’t been updated to support these features yet. I know my Desire can handle any audio/video that an iPhone can. Hopefully they will listen and add this feature in a future update.

In the mean time I will stick to good old-fashioned reading with my eyes.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

